Mortara wins his second consecutive Fromula E pole


Edoardo Mortara won his second consecutive Formula E pole, slicing past Robin Frijns in the second Berlin E-Prix qualifying final by nearly half a second.

One race winner Mortara was flawless throughout qualifying, leading his group and stringing together three quick laps in the duels round to secure pole for his Venturi machine.

Frijns had a shaky start to his final lap, taking too much of a bite out of the steering wheel into Turn 1, forcing him into a temporary slip and putting him 0.286s behind Mortara by the first sector.

Mortara kept up the pace, with a 1m05.972s, just a tenth slower than his semi-final performance, to take pole by 0.498s over Frijns.

In their semi-final encounter, the Swiss driver had put Nyck de Vries to the sword, clocking a time of 1m05.897s against de Vries’ time of over four tenths slower, securing the reigning champion third on the grid – albeit under investigation for perhaps missing the weighbridge.

Mortara, on the other hand, avenged his colleague, defeating Nick Cassidy in the last eight for the first time since Diriyah.

Edoardo Mortara, ROKiT Venturi Racing

Lotterer qualified fourth, while da Costa was the fastest of the quarter-finalist drivers and will start the race fifth, ahead of Lucas di Grassi.

Mitch Evans was knocked out of qualifying in the group stage for the second time, this time due to a late charge from Robin Frijns, who failed to make the cut out of Group A.

Despite Porsche’s outstanding performance throughout the weekend, Pascal Wehrlein managed only the 10th best time in the group.

Due to Cassidy’s penalty, Vergne starts eighth, ahead of Evans and Rowland, who round out the top ten.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here